One Way of Relaxing in an Imperfect Garden by Evelyn Hadden

Moment3

Glow of the moment,

Spread my restless attention

Like water, like peace.

My garden will never be perfect. I know that. And sometimes that makes it hard to relax in. I’ll sit down and try to enjoy being outdoors, but instead I’ll catch myself scanning around for things to add to my mental “want-to-do” list.

For my own sanity, there are times when I need to ignore all the things my brain is telling me I should do to improve the garden, and instead just focus on what thrills me about it right now.

Moment2

Thistle gonna bloom.

Sidestep past it on the path,

Anticipating.

It’s a difficult lesson. Mainly I’m collecting strategies. Here is one: challenging myself to write a short verse about the next thing I notice in the garden. Haiku is my verse of choice for this game; it keeps my attention on the tiniest details, in an effort to say something true and meaningful in only 5+7+5 syllables.

These brief glimpses into what I am sensing serve a dual purpose, bringing me into the moment as I write them and also capturing that moment, allowing me to revisit it later.

Moment1

Collection of plants

Bound together with bindweed:

Wild bouquet du jour.

One Way of Relaxing in an Imperfect Garden originally appeared on Garden Rant on July 5, 2016.

Leave a Reply

